Skip to content

ATAILA Newsroom · Budapest ·

2026-W39

The price war reached the token. The residency surcharge did not move.

On 22 September OpenAI and Anthropic cut their frontier prices within hours of each other. The next morning Portfolio's Müller András called it a price war and asked the right question: what does this do to the cost of running enterprise agents? Three days later Microsoft gave one answer by putting the agents in its new Copilot on usage-based billing. We have argued for a year that public AI would not get cheaper. Per token, it just did. Here is what that changes in our argument, and what it does not.

The article we are responding to

“AI-árháború tört ki, de a valódi tét a vállalati ügynökök ára”

portfolio.hu, 23 September 2026

What happened on 22 September

OpenAI released GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna. On OpenAI's own pricing page Sol lists at $2.00 per million input tokens and $10.00 per million output tokens; GPT-5.6 Sol, the model it replaces, lists at a promotional $4.00 and $20.00. Luna lists at $0.10 and $0.50. Portfolio's table puts the previous Luna input price at $0.20. OpenAI's launch post refused our request (HTTP 403), so the price comparison rests on the pricing page and on Portfolio, which had read the announcement.

Anthropic released Claude Opus 5.5 the same day, at $4 and $20 per million tokens, which the launch page describes as 20% less than Opus 5. Cache reads, which Anthropic says make up the majority of agentic and coding work costs, fell to $0.20 per million, 60% less. Anthropic's own estimate is that at default settings the model costs 40% less than Opus 5 on typical workloads.

Portfolio's point was that the consumer chatbot is secondary. The stake is the price of running enterprise agents, which burn tokens by the million. On that reading the week was good news for every company that pays per token. We agree with the reading, and it applies to us.

$2 / $10

GPT-6 Sol per million input and output tokens on OpenAI's pricing page; GPT-5.6 Sol's promotional price is $4 / $20

$4 / $20

Claude Opus 5.5 per million tokens, "20% less than Opus 5"; cache reads $0.20, "60% less" (Anthropic launch page)

+10%

OpenAI's uplift for "regional processing (data residency) endpoints" on models released on or after 5 March 2026

+20%

the EU Data Zone against Global for GPT-6 Sol on Microsoft Foundry: $2.40 / $12.00 against $2.00 / $10.00 (our arithmetic from Microsoft's table; the US Data Zone is +10%)

us, global

the only two inference geos on Anthropic's first-party API; US-only inference is billed at 1.1x (Anthropic data-residency documentation)

2 November 2026

from this date new Microsoft 365 Copilot Business licences bought through CSP include usage-based billing by default (Microsoft Partner Center, 16 September); for licences bought directly from Microsoft it applies from 19 October

Where we were wrong

On 3 September we wrote that the unit price can fall while the bill rises. On 4 September we wrote about a token price that stayed put while the bill grew. The thread running through both, and through a year of our conversations with Hungarian companies, was that public AI would not get cheaper.

Per token, it did. A 40% reduction on typical workloads is real money, and a company that pays OpenAI or Anthropic by the token will pay less on Monday than it did on Friday. We should say that plainly rather than reach for a caveat. The caveats exist, and we list them below, but they do not undo the fact.

There is a second correction, to ourselves. On 3 September we wrote that GPT-6 Astra had no EU Data Zone at launch. Microsoft's 22 September table now lists an EU Data Zone for Astra, at $12.00 and $60.00 against $10.00 and $50.00 Global. The option arrived. It arrived with a surcharge, and we guessed that part wrong too: we expected a premium similar to the US one, and it is double.

What did not move: the price of the location

Microsoft's Foundry announcement, by Naomi Moneypenny, carries a price table for all three GPT-6 models in three deployment types. For GPT-6 Sol, short context, Global Standard is $2.00 and $10.00, Data Zone Standard (US) is $2.20 and $11.00, and Data Zone Standard (EU) is $2.40 and $12.00. The table puts the US Data Zone 10% above Global. The footnote states the same 10% US premium in words, but only for the Provisioned Throughput and Priority Processing offers. The EU premium is not stated in words anywhere; it is arithmetic on the table, and it comes to 20% on every row of every model. Keeping the processing in Europe costs twice the premium of keeping it in the United States.

OpenAI's own pricing page says that regional processing endpoints, which is how it names data residency, are charged a 10% uplift for models released on or after 5 March 2026. It adds one sentence that matters more than the percentage: for GPT-6 Sol and Luna, EU data residency is available only with Standard processing. Our reading is that the discounted Batch and Flex tiers are for traffic that may be processed anywhere. If your data must stay in the EU, the sale price is not for you.

Anthropic's data-residency documentation is the shortest of the three. The inference geo parameter accepts two values, global and us. Pinning inference to the United States is billed at 1.1x. Workspace storage has one available geo, us. An EU company on Anthropic's first-party API can pay 10% extra to keep its data in the United States, and cannot choose Europe at all. Regional processing of Claude on the partner clouds is priced by the partners; Anthropic's own pricing page puts their regional endpoints at a 10% premium over global.

So the week's price cuts have a shape. The global price fell by 20 to 50 percent, and by more on Luna's output tokens. The residency premium stayed at 10 to 20 percent, or stayed unavailable. The token got cheaper. The location did not.

Then the seat stopped being the bill

On 25 September Microsoft relaunched Copilot as Home, Code and Autopilot, and split the way it is paid for. Jared Spataro's post says user subscription licences cover everyday work in Chat, Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook and Teams at a fixed cost. Cowork, Code and Autopilot, what the post calls new long-running agentic capabilities, and frontier models like Astra and Fable, all run on usage-based billing. No prices were published. Microsoft's Partner Center notice of 16 September adds that from 2 November 2026 new Microsoft 365 Copilot Business licences bought through a Cloud Solution Provider include usage-based billing by default. Microsoft's message-centre notice MC1476200 adds that for new licences bought directly from Microsoft the change applies from 19 October.

We will not call this a surprise bill. Per the same notice the default configuration comes with spending limits, and Microsoft's post describes spending policies, API access for administrators and credit-request workflows, so the budget can be controlled. What changed is the shape of the invoice. The seat is a flat line. Agents and frontier models are a curve, and the curve rises exactly where every vendor is pushing adoption. A finance director who budgeted a licence per head in January now has a second line that is hard to forecast, because Microsoft gives what a Cowork task consumes only as rough planning estimates, and the post names no prices.

What we will stop saying, and what survives

We will stop saying that public AI is expensive per token. This week made that sentence false, and we would rather change the sentence than defend it.

Three things survive, and they are narrower than the sentence we are retiring.

The vendor sets the price, the defaults and the routing. Anthropic's own documentation for Opus 5.5 lists four breaking changes for code running on Opus 5, lowers the default effort from high to medium, and re-routes most cybersecurity tasks to Opus 4.8. Prices moved down this week. Before that, Anthropic scheduled and then cancelled a Sonnet 5 increase, and Google scheduled a Gemini Flash increase. They can move again.

Residency is a priced extra, and on one of the three APIs it is not on the menu. Ten to twenty percent is not much. It is also the only number in this story that did not fall.

Capacity you own costs the same on a busy month and a quiet one. That is our weakness in a quiet month and our whole argument in a busy one. If your constraint is the invoice and your usage is light, the public cloud won this week, and we say so. If your constraint is where the processing runs, nothing this week was for you.

Sources, figures, and one disclosure

The story we are answering: AI-árháború tört ki, de a valódi tét a vállalati ügynökök ára, Müller András, portfolio.hu, 23 September 2026, 11:09. Opened and read in full; not paywalled.

OpenAI prices and the residency conditions: developers.openai.com/api/docs/pricing, opened 26 September. The quoted sentences are "Regional processing (data residency) endpoints are charged a 10% uplift for models released on or after March 5, 2026, that are eligible for data residency" and "For GPT-6 Sol and Luna, EU data residency is available only with Standard processing." The page also notes that GPT-5.6 Sol's promotional pricing runs at least through 21 November 2026. OpenAI's launch post returned HTTP 403 to us, so the 22 September release date rests on Portfolio and on Anthropic's page for its own model.

Anthropic: Introducing Claude Opus 5.5, 22 September, for the $4 / $20, $0.20 cache-read and 40% figures, all in Anthropic's own words; the data residency documentation for the two inference geos, the 1.1x multiplier and the single workspace geo, opened 26 September. The breaking changes and the default effort are from Anthropic's "What's new in Claude Opus 5.5" documentation, opened 26 September; the re-routing of most cybersecurity tasks to Opus 4.8 is from the launch page.

Microsoft: GPT-6 Astra, Sol, and Luna: For production agents in Microsoft Foundry, Naomi Moneypenny, 22 September, for the table and the footnote. The footnote's 10% US premium applies to the Provisioned Throughput and Priority Processing offers; the 10% US and 20% EU premiums on Standard deployments are our division of the Data Zone rows by the Global row and are not stated in words on the page. Introducing the new Copilot with Home, Code and Autopilot, Jared Spataro, 25 September. The rough planning estimates for Cowork are from Microsoft's Copilot Credits Guide, September 2026. The 2 November default for CSP licences is from the Microsoft Partner Center announcements page, 16 September; the 19 October date for direct purchases and the default spending limits are from Microsoft's message-centre notice MC1476200.

Not verified: reports of 30 to 50 percent enterprise Copilot discounts (The Information, paywalled) and a claim in a separate Portfolio article of 25 September that the Copilot subscription has a token limit, which we could not find in Microsoft's post. Neither is used above.

Disclosure: this newsroom is drafted with Anthropic's models and approved by a person, as we described on 11 September. The Opus 5.5 price cut lowers our own drafting costs. We have tried to write the article the same way we would have if it did not.

Correction, 27 September 2026: after a post-publication fact check we made clear that GPT-5.6 Sol's $4 / $20 is a promotional price, which offers Microsoft's footnote covers, and that the token-limit claim comes from a different Portfolio article. We dropped the word "quietly" from the cancelled Sonnet 5 increase, and added the 19 October date for direct purchases and the default spending limits to the Copilot billing change.

The original article

“AI-árháború tört ki, de a valódi tét a vállalati ügynökök ára”

portfolio.hu, 23 September 2026

The live page has changed since we captured it.